Training

The club trains five days a week during term time, and different days focus on different aspects of training. All of the instructors are black-belts. Many of them have considerable experience in teaching, and either represent or have represented Cambridge in competitions. During the vacations periods, outside the University term there is always at least one taught session a week.

The Club's chief instructor is Sensei Richard Poole, 7th Dan KUGB, who is a former Welsh international competitor, an international referee and also president of both the World and European Shotokan Karate-do Associations.

Sensei Richard usually takes the general Sunday sessions intended for all members and the squad sessions on Monday. Squad sessions focus on kumite (sparring) for competitions — if you are interested in attending these sessions please contact one of the captains.

Wednesday sessions are general (kihon, kata and kumite) sessions for beginners. Thursday kata sessions focus mainly on Heian katas in the first half, whilst the second hour will cover more advanced katas and is intended to support higher grades and those who represent Cambridge in competitions. These classes become more competition-orientated around November and February-March time. Friday sparring is informal and relaxed, and is intended to supplement Monday squad training.

IMPORTANT: For insurance reasons you will need a valid KUGB licence in order to train at CUKC. Licences can be obtained from the KUGB website here. You are welcome to hold licences from other associations as well as the KUGB, but such licences alone are not sufficent to train at CUKC.



Training Rota 2018

DayDateSessionTimeInstructorVenue
Thursday 1 November Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm Jamie Pembroke College, New Cellars (map)
Friday 2 November Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm Herve Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 11 November General Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 12 November Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 14 November Beginners' Class 8:00-10:00pm Julian Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Thursday 15 November Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm Jamie Pembroke College, New Cellars (map)
Friday 16 November Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm Herve Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 18 November General Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 19 November Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm Vlad Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 21 November Beginners' Class 8:00-10:00pm Julian Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Thursday 22 November Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm Jamie Cambridge Sports Centre, Rugby Fives courts (map)
Friday 23 November Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm Herve Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 25 November General Class 3:30-5:30pm tbc Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 26 November Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm Vlad Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 28 November Mock Grading 8:00-10:00pm Richard Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Friday 30 November Grading 9:30-12:30am Sensei Bob Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 2 (map)
Start of Holiday Training
Sunday 2 December Holiday Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard TBC
Wednesday 5 December Holiday Class 8:00-10:00pm Richard TBC
Sunday 9 December Holiday Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Pembroke College, New Cellars (map)
Wednesday 12 December Holiday Class 8:00-10:00pm Richard Queens' College Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 16 December Holiday Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Pembroke College, New Cellars (map)
Wednesday 19 December Holiday Class 8:00-10:00pm Richard TBC
Sunday 23 December Holiday Class 3:30-5:30pm TBC Queens' College Bowett Room (map)
Wednesday 26 December Holiday Class 8:00-10:00pm TBC Queens' College Bowett Room (map)



Please note that members have to be at least 8th kyu (red belt) before they can enter kata sessions or 7th kyu (yellow belt) for kumite sessions!