Training

The club trains five days a week during term time, and different days focus on different aspects of training. All of the instructors are black-belts. Many of them have considerable experience in teaching, and either represent or have represented Cambridge in competitions. During the vacations periods, outside the University term there is always at least one taught session a week.

The Club's chief instructor is Sensei Richard Poole, 7th Dan KUGB, who is a former Welsh international competitor, an international referee and also president of both the World and European Shotokan Karate-do Associations.

Sensei Richard usually takes the general Sunday sessions intended for all members and the squad sessions on Monday. Squad sessions focus on kumite (sparring) for competitions — if you are interested in attending these sessions please contact one of the captains.

Wednesday sessions are general (kihon, kata and kumite) sessions for beginners. Thursday kata sessions focus mainly on Heian katas in the first half, whilst the second hour will cover more advanced katas and is intended to support higher grades and those who represent Cambridge in competitions. These classes become more competition-orientated around November and February-March time. Friday sparring is informal and relaxed, and is intended to supplement Monday squad training.

IMPORTANT: For insurance reasons you will need a valid KUGB licence in order to train at CUKC. Licences can be obtained from the KUGB website here. You are welcome to hold licences from other associations as well as the KUGB, but such licences alone are not sufficent to train at CUKC.



Training Rota 2018

DayDateSessionTimeInstructorVenue
Friday 1 February Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm Herve Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 3 February General Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 4 February Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 6 February Beginners' Class 8:00-10:00pm Julian Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Thursday 7 February Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm Jamie > Cambridge Sports Centre, Rugby Fives courts (map)
Friday 8 February Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm Herve Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 10 February General Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 11 February Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 13 February Beginners' Class 8:00-10:00pm TBC Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Thursday 14 February Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm Jamie Pembroke College, New Cellars (map)
Friday 15 February Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm Herve Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 17 February General Class 3:30-5:30pm TBC Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 18 February Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm Herve Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 20 February Beginners' Class 8:00-10:00pm Julian Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Thursday 21 February Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm Jamie > Cambridge Sports Centre, Rugby Fives courts (map)
Friday 22 February Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm Herve Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 24 February General Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 25 February Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm Herve Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 27 February Beginners' Class 8:00-10:00pm TBC Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Thursday 28 February Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm Jamie > Cambridge Sports Centre, Rugby Fives courts (map)
Friday 1 March Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm TBC Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Saturday 2 March Varsity 3:00pm Spectators welcome!!! Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Sunday 3 March General Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 4 March Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 6 March Beginners' Class 8:00-10:00pm TBC Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Thursday 7 March Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm Jamie > Cambridge Sports Centre, Rugby Fives courts (map)
Friday 8 March Kumite Session 6:00-8:00pm Herve Queens' College, Bowett Room (map)
Sunday 10 March General Class 3:30-5:30pm Richard Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Monday 11 March Squad Kumite 7:30-9:30pm TBC Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 1 (map)
Wednesday 13 March Mock Grading 8:00-10:00pm Richard Trinity Squash Courts (map)
Thursday 14 March Kata Class 8:00-10:00pm TBC Pembroke College, New Cellars (map)
Friday 15 March Grading + AGM 9:30-12:30am Sensei Bob Cambridge Sports Centre, Studio 2 (map)
Start of Holiday Training



Please note that members have to be at least 8th kyu (red belt) before they can enter kata sessions or 7th kyu (yellow belt) for kumite sessions!